background
Logo dreyer stiftung

Projects

Water

Wasser

A dam and numerous wells help relieve the shortage of sufficient and clean water.

Agriculture

Landwirtschaft

Farm cooperatives are supported in many ways on their path to economic independence.

Education

Bildung

Building of schools, free school meals and assistance to gifted pupils are an investment in young people's development.

Research

Forschung

All projects are accompanied by research, the results of which are incorporated in practical work in the field.

Renewable Energies

Erneuerbare Energien

This new economic sector will create new sources of income, permit electrification and support environmental protection.

cleaninghands

Water

 

"Water is Life" – this motto of the Dreyer Foundation underlines the essential importance of the availability of clean drinking water for people on the southern edge of the Sahel region and the benefits of water for the year-round farming. The Foundation uses three different ways to solve the problem of water supply: water retention basins, deep wells for drinking water supply and wells for agricultural use.

Due to the construction of large and small dams in valleys, the rain water of the rainy season from June to October is collected to irrigate fields in the dry season from November to May. The previous main project of the Foundation was a 300 m long dam near Moutori town with a water holding capacity of 900,000 m3, which was completed in 2002 and continuously irrigated a perimeter of 23 hectares. Other projects include restoration of the dam in Pontieba and in the sector 3 in Dano as well as construction of small dams also serving as erosion control during the rainy season.

staudamm

In the last few years, the Dreyer Foundation has drilled numerous deep wells of 70–120 m deep equipped with hand or electric water pumps to provide schools and individual villages with drinking water. Clean drinking water reduces the number of diseases, in particular of children, by more than 70% and is the most important measure for the preservation of public health.

trinkwasserbrunnen

 

Wells for agriculture: due to the extension of hand-built wells to the maximum possible depth of 25 m, vegetables and corn can be cultivated on some limited agricultural properties in the first three months of the dry season.

auffangbecken

Prospects of water supply

In 2012, the Foundation started an extensive groundwater research project. Its objective is to study the hydrological situation and the behaviour of the groundwater during the rain and dry seasons as well as the whereabouts of the surface water seeped away. Our hope is that a substantial use of water for agricultural purposes is possible without lowering the groundwater level. Depending on the results of this study, economic efficiency calculations aimed at feasibility of groundwater-fed agriculture will follow.

kuhweide

Erosion control

Heavy rains during the rainy season lead to a rainwash of fertile soil in many places. This erosion is a major threat to sustainable agriculture. The construction of small stone ramparts along the contour lines of the area restricts the rainwater outflow, facilitates water infiltration into the soil and thus ensures a better water availability to plants. This improves the quality of soil in the medium term.

background
Logo dreyer stiftung

Projekte

Wasser

Wasser

Ein Staudamm und zahlreiche Brunnen leisten dem Mangel an ausreichendem und sauberem Wasser Abhilfe.

Landwirtschaft

Landwirtschaft

Bauern-Kooperativen werden auf ihrem Weg in die wirtschaftliche Unabhängigkeit vielfältig unterstützt.

Bildung

Bildung

Mit dem Bau von Schulen, kostenloser Schulspeisung und Begabtenförderung wird in die Entwicklung junger Menschen investiert.

Forschung

Forschung

Alle Projekte werden durch Forschung begleitet, deren Erkenntnisse fließen in die praktische Arbeit vor Ort ein.

Erneuerbare Energien

Erneuerbare Energien

Der neue Wirtschaftszweig soll neue Erwerbsquellen schaffen, Elektrifizierungen ermöglichen und dem Umweltschutz dienen.

cleaninghands

Wasser


„Wasser ist Leben“, dieses Motto der Stiftung steht für die zentrale Bedeutung der Verfügbarkeit von sauberem Trinkwasser für die Menschen am Südrand der Sahelregion und den Nutzen des Wassers für die ganzjährige Landwirtschaft. Die Stiftung arbeitet auf drei verschiedenen Wegen an der Lösung des Problems Wasserversorgung: mit Wasserrückhaltebecken, Tiefbrunnen zur Trinkwasserversorgung und Brunnen für die landwirtschaftliche Nutzung.

Durch den Bau von größeren und kleineren Staudämmen in Tallagen werden die Regenfälle der Regenzeit von Juni bis Oktober aufgefangen, um in der Trockenzeit von November bis Mai die entsprechend angelegten Felder bewässern zu können. Bisheriges Hauptprojekt ist der Staudamm bei Moutori mit circa 300 Metern Länge und einer Wasserhaltungskapazität von 900.000 Kubikmetern, der 2002 fertiggestellt wurde und einen Perimeter von 23 Hektar kontinuierlich bewässert. Andere Projekte sind zum Beispiel die Wiederherstellung der Stauanlage in Pontiebá und im Sektor 3 in Dano sowie das Anlegen von Kleinststaudämmen, die auch dem Erosionsschutz in der Regenzeit dienen.

staudamm

Die Stiftung hat in den vergangenen Jahren zahlreiche Tiefbrunnen von 70 bis 120 Metern Tiefe gebohrt und mit manuellen oder elektrischen Pumpen ausgestattet, um die Versorgung von Schulen und einzelnen Dörfern mit Trinkwasser sicherzustellen. Sauberes Trinkwasser reduziert die Zahl der Erkrankungen insbesondere von Kindern um mehr als 70 Prozent und ist die wichtigste Maßnahme zur Volksgesundheit.

trinkwasserbrunnen

 

Brunnen für die Landwirtschaft: Mit dem Ausbau von handgebauten Brunnen bis zu einer maximal möglichen Tiefe von 25 Metern können in den ersten drei Monaten der Trockenzeit noch auf begrenzten landwirtschaftlichen Flächen Gemüse- und Maisanbau betrieben werden.

auffangbecken

Perspektiven der Wasserversorgung

Seit 2012 führt die Stiftung ein umfangreiches Grundwasser-Forschungsprojekt durch. Ziel ist das Verständnis der hydrologischen Situation und des Grundwasserverhaltens im Rhythmus von Regen- und Trockenzeit sowie neue Erkenntnisse über den Verbleib des versickerten Oberflächenwassers. Unsere Hoffnung ist, dass eine substantielle Nutzung von für landwirtschaftliche Zwecke möglich ist ohne den Grundwasserspiegel nachhaltig zu senken. Abhängig vom Ergebnis dieser Studie folgen Wirtschaftlichkeitsberechnungen, die die Machbarkeit einer grundwassergespeisten Landwirtschaft zum Ziel haben.

kuhweide

Erosionsschutz

Die zum Teil heftigen Regenfälle in der Regenzeit führen an vielen Orten zu einer Abschwemmung von fruchtbaren Böden. Diese Erosion ist eine große Gefahr für eine nachhaltige Landwirtschaft. Durch den Bau von kleinen Steinwällen entlang der Höhenlinien des Geländes wird der Abfluss des Regenwassers stark eingeschränkt, das Eindringen des Wassers in den Boden gefördert und somit eine bessere Wasserverfügbarkeit für die Pflanzen erreicht. Dadurch verbessert sich auch mittelfristig die Qualität der Böden.